Board of Trustees

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • David J. Mehegan, Chairman
  • Edward D. Boylan, Vice Chairman
  • Edward Siegfried, Chief Financial Officer, Treasurer
  • Arthur T. Garrity, Jr., Secretary
  • Charles B. Abbott, Esq., Past President
  • Thomas J. Carey, Jr., Esq., Trustee
  • Elizabeth Eldredge, Trustee
  • Edna English, Trustee
  • JoAnn C. Mitchell, Trustee
  • Tina V. Sherwood, Trustee
  • Michael Spatola, Trustee
  • Jeremy Parker, Trustee
  • Michael Barclay, Trustee
  • Lisa Tuite, Trustee
  • Paul Healey, Trustee Ex Officio
  • Dr. Dorothy H. Galo, Trustee Ex Officio
  • Jean M. Montgomery, Trustee Ex Officio
  • Linda Harper, Library Director
  • Caryl Falvey, Trustee
  • Caryl Falvey, Trustee
The Hingham Public Library was incorporated on March 19, 1872 by a Special Act of the Massachusetts Legislature for the purpose of maintaining a public library in the Town of Hingham.

Following the enactment in 1965 of an amendment to the 1872 Special Act, management of the Library has been vested in a Board of Trustees consisting of:
  • The members of the corporation (no fewer than 9 nor more than 11 in number)
  • The Chairman of the Board of Selectmen, the Superintendent of Schools, and the Treasurer of the Town as trustees ex officio
  • 3 residents of Hingham appointed by the Board of Selectmen
  • 2 residents of Hingham appointed by the Moderator
The Board of Trustees annually elects officers. The Board also maintains a number of standing committees to facilitate policy development and service delivery.

The Board of Trustees hires a qualified/certified Library Director to oversee the management, operation, and development of the Library.