Children's Upcoming Book Groups

For 2nd & 3rd Grade:

Wind Riders: Rescue on Turtle Beach by Jen Marlin

Tuesday, July 12 at 5:30 PM

This book group will be held virtually via Zoom. We will send you the meeting link the afternoon of our meeting. Register now here.

This book can be found digitally through Overdrive/Libby or you can place a physical book on hold to pickup in the Library.

For more information, or help accessing the book, please email hijuv@ocln.org or call the Children's Department at 781-741-1405 ext. 1403.

About the Book

Max and Sofia are ordinary kids whose lives are changed when they discover an abandoned sailboat. They’re given the chance to make a real impact when the boat magically brings them them to a different corner of the world to help other kids save their environment!

Wind Riders: Rescue on Turtle Beach is the first book in an illustrated chapter book series about Max and Sofia’s adventures tackling real world problems. Each story visits a new location and introduces a human-made problem endangering animals and the environment.

With nature’s highest stakes and environmental activism baked into each book, as well as fun scientific facts included at the end, Wind Riders promises to be the chapter book series for newly independent readers who love nature documentaries and are hungry to learn about the world around them.

There is beautiful two-color art throughout and an emphasis on collaborative problem-solving, compassion for the Earth and all its inhabitants, and friendship. Wind Riders is the perfect STEM chapter book series for fans of Magic Tree House, The Magic School Bus, and Zoey and Sassafras.

Wind Riders book cover

For 4th & 5th Grade:

Duet by Elise Broach

Tuesday, July 26 at 5:30 PM
 
This book group will be held virtually via Zoom. We will send you the meeting link the afternoon of our meeting. Register now here.

This book can be found digitally through Overdrive/Libby, or or you can pick up a physical copy at the Children's Desk.

For more information or help accessing the book, please email hijuv@ocln.org please email hijuv@ocln.org or call the Children's Department at 781-741-1405 ext. 1403.

About the Book

Welcome to the world of Mirabelle, a young goldfinch who loves to sing and dreams of becoming a musical star. She lives with her family in the backyard of a piano teacher, and she is quickly intrigued by Mr. Starek's newest pupil. Michael Jin is an eleven-year-old keyboard sensation, but lesson after lesson, he refuses to play.  With the prestigious Chopin Festival looming at summer’s end, how will he be ready in time?  Mirabelle is responsible for Michael’s breakthrough—to her own astonishment, she sings the Chopin piece he is beginning to play at the piano. It is their first duet.

Thus begins a secret adventure that will take Mirabelle and Michael further than they ever imagined—in music, in friendship, and in solving the mystery of a lost piano that could be worth millions.  A house full of treasures holds the clues. There, Mirabelle, Michael, and their friend Emily will make an important discovery that links the great composer Frederic Chopin, the trailblazing author George Sand, and the French Romantic painter Eugene Delacroix.

A fast-paced, history-rich mystery will have young readers hooked as they root for boy and bird in this beautifully told novel, full of emotion and suspense.

Duet book cover